Board of Fire Commissioners

The Board of Fire Commissioners hold their meetings on the first and third Thursdays of each month at 7:30 p.m.  The meetings are held at the Washington Township Fire District Headquarters building located at 213 E. Holly Ave. Sewell, NJ.

The Washington Township Board of Fire Commissioners welcomes the Public to come speak at our meeting during the Public portion of the meeting.


The following is list of attorneys, advisors, consultants and any other person, firm, business, partnership, corporation or other organization that received remuneration equal to or more than $17,500 during the preceding fiscal year (2022) for any service whatsoever rendered to the Fire District:

Action Uniform
Arthur J Ogren Inc.
Atlantic City Electric
Comcast Business
Delta Dental
Dival Safety Equipment Inc.
First Responder Joint Insurance Fund
Interstate Mobile
Mary Bridget Enterprises, Inc.
Parker McCay PA
Municipal Emergency Services
Municipal Capital
PCH Technologies
US Bank Corp
South Jersey Gas Company
Tags Auto Parts
Township of Washington
Washington Township Municipal Utilities

Organization, Structure, and Operation of the Fire District

On August 23, 1972 the governing body of Washington Township adopted and ordinance that created the Washington Township Fire District No. 1. The territorial jurisdiction of the Fire District encompasses the entire Township of Washington.

The Board of Fire Commissioners oversees all aspects of the Fire District with District Fire Chief in charge of all daily operations. The Bureau of Fire Prevention is responsible for fire prevention education, fire investigation, and code enforcement. The Maintenance Division duties include the repair, testing, and preventative maintenance of all fire district owned vehicles and equipment.


The fire district’s three volunteer fire companies; Grenloch, Whitman Square, and Hurffville, work in conjunction with our career staff.  All active members of these fire companies are volunteer, including their respective company fire chiefs. They supply the necessary manpower at the scene of a fire or other emergency. The career staff is assigned to cover the fire service needs of Washington Township 24/7.

Board of Fire Commissioners

All Fire Districts in the State of New Jersey are governed by statue. Fire District Statues are generally located in N.J.S.A. 40A:14-70 et seq. These statutes give fire districts taxing authority, regulate when and how fire district elections are to be conducted, and regulate their fiscal responsibilities, among other things. The Board of Fire Commissioners serves as the Fire Districts governing body and manages all operations. The length of a Fire Commissioner’s term is three years, and commissioners, as well as approval of the proposed annual budget, is conducted on the third Saturday in February, as mandated by New Jersey Statutes.

The current Fire Commissioners are:

Robert Matteo - Chairman

William Robertson - Vice Chairman

Gregory Godish - Treasurer

Frank Stella - Secretary

Jay Reisenwitz